Tipperary GAA

The Tipperary County Board of the Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA) (IrishCumann Lúthchleas Gael Coiste Chontae Thiobraid Árann) or Tipperary GAA is one of the 32 county boards of the GAA in Ireland, and is responsible for Gaelic games in County Tipperary and the Tipperary inter-county teams.

County Tipperary holds an honoured place in the history of the GAA as the organisation was founded in Hayes' HotelThurles, on 1 November 1884.


Tipperary's team colors are royal blue and gold. Tipperary wear blue jerseys with a horizontal gold bar across the center along with white shorts and blue socks.

The Tippeary team crest features the Rock of Cashel prominently with two crossed hurleys and a Gaelic football below. In the year '1884' when Tipperary GAA was founded is in the center of the crest.


The teams of the Tipperary County Board, together with Kilkenny GAA and Cork GAA lead the roll of honour in the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship. The Board's teams have won 27 All-Ireland titles as of 2016 - the third most successful of all county boards. 

The Horse and Jockey Senior Hurling team, representing County Tipperary, won the 1899 All-Ireland championship at Jones's Road (now Croke Park) in Dublin, beating the team from Blackwater which represented County Wexford.